Johannesburg mayor rewards small parties with positions on mayoral committee

- | a month ago

Newly elected Johannesburg Mayor Geoffrey Makhubo has constituted a multiparty government in the city, rewarding political parties that helped the ANC gain power with five seats on the mayoral committee.

Five of the 10 members of the committee are from the ANC, while two are from the Inkatha Freedom Party (IFP) and one each from the Congress of the People (Cope), the Patriotic Alliance and the African Independent Congress (AIC). ANC Johannesburg regional spokesperson Jolidee Matongo was appointed Member of the mayoral council (MMC) for finance, Eunice Mgcina is MMC for health and social development, Mpho Moerane heads the environment and infrastructure services portfolio, while Loyiso Masuku is corporate and shared services MMC and Mally Mokoena heads public safety portfolio.

For ditching it cooperative alliance with the DA and aligning with the ANC, the IFP received two MMC positions, with transport and housing to be headed by Nonhlanhla Makhuba and Mlungisi Mabaso, respectively.

read full story